As the CHF are leaders in ensuring we as a community fulfill on the goals identified in Calgary’s plan to end homelessness, it’s fitting our leadership is built on a deep commitment to community.

Our Board of Directors and leadership team are individuals with experience across a range of sectors, including not-for-profit, business, academia, government and philanthropy. This depth and breadth provides insight to guide Calgary’s Plan, governance to manage risks and skill to efficiently implement plans.

Board of Directors – Executive Management

Gerald Chipeur – Chair

Gerald Chipeur, QC is a partner in the law firm of Miller Thomson. Gerry’s business law practice over the last three decades has often focused on the development of public policy and the removal of administrative red tape. Private sector and public sector clients rely upon Gerry to navigate the rules established to regulate the way businesses and governments achieve their objectives. As a trial and appellate lawyer, he has advocated for clients before administrative tribunals and courts in Canada, including 20 matters before the Supreme Court of Canada. His scholarship includes over 100 articles on legal topics such as the Constitution, hospitals and healthcare, the environment, First Nations, education, administrative law, human rights, elections, charitable organizations and public safety. He is frequently invited to appear as an expert witness before Senate and House of Commons committees studying legislative proposals. Gerry enjoys serving the community and has participated on boards or committees of the following charities: Greater Edmonton Foundation, New Home Immigration Service, Alberta Non-profit Private Colleges Foundation, Burman University, Calgary Distress Centre, Canadian Diabetes Association, Gimbel Eye Foundation, Sherwood Care, United Way of Calgary and Area and Calgary Homeless Foundation. In addition, Gerry is Honorary Consul for Korea, with jurisdiction for Alberta.

Arthur R. Smith – Chair Emeritus

The late Mr. Arthur R. Smith, an entrepreneur, politician and philanthropist, founded CHF in 1998 to create a unified front to reduce homelessness in Calgary. He spent the last 10 years of his life advocating on behalf of those who were homeless and vulnerable.

Board of Directors – Members

  • Gail Boehm – Acting CEO, Calgary Homeless Foundation (Ex-Officio)
  • Gerald Chipeur – Partner, Miller Thomson LLP (Chair)
  • Kellie Donohue – Principal, Kellie Donohue Consulting
  • Patricia Kaiser – President, Brightline Consulting (Governance & HR Committee Chair)
  • John McCarthy – President, Sustained Balance Consulting (Public Policy Committee Chair)
  • Scott McElligott – Investment Counsellor, Manulife Private Wealth (Board Philanthropy Committee Chair)
  • Carey Mogdan – COO and Senior VP Operations, Inova Geophysical
  • Matt Mura – Partner, Ernst & Young LLP (Audit & Risk Management Committee Chair)
  • Leigh-Anne Palter – Management Consultant, Deloitte
  • Stephanie Prior – Partner, Ernst & Young LLP
  • David Ross – President, SAIT Polytechnic
  • Shilpa Sharma – Manager, Canada Wide Growth Strategy at Visual BI

Board of Directors – Honorary Members

  • John Currie
  • Stephanie Felesky
  • Brian O’Leary

Our volunteers are vital to the work we do. The Calgary Homeless Foundation thanks our Board of Directors.

Leadership Team

Gail Boehm – Acting CEO

Gail Boehm (CPA, CA) has over 30 years of operations and financial leadership experience in both the for-profit and not-for-profit sectors. She has worked as a senior leader in engineering consulting businesses, oil and gas service businesses and at Calgary Homeless Foundation (CHF). She has a track record of building and motivating high-performing teams, creating visions for transformational change and achieving buy-in across diverse, cross-functional teams. In her role as Chief Operating Officer of CHF, Gail led the development of CHF’s new 3 Year Strategic Blueprint that will guide CHF’s continued innovative and collaborative system level leadership in Calgary’s Homeless-Serving System of Care.

Gail is committed to bettering our community. In addition to her work at CHF, she served for eight years on the Board of Directors of Momentum Community Economic Development Society, including two years as Board Chair. Gail continues to volunteer with a number of non-profit organizations in Calgary.

Matt Nomura – Vice President, Homeless-Serving System of Care (HSSC)

Matt holds a Masters in Business Administration (MBA), and brings over 14 years of leadership experience to CHF. Having held progressively senior management and strategy roles in both the financial sector and not for profit space, he has extensive experience with strategy and business planning, program design, funding and evaluation, outcomes measurement (qualitative and quantitative), and advocacy within Ministries and public systems.

Coleen Hutton – Director, Human Resources

Coleen has an extensive background in human resources strategy and all areas of human resources. She has worked in a wide range of sectors including oil and gas, management consulting, engineering and not-for-profit. Coleen holds a Bachelor’s Degree and the Certified Human Resources Professional (CHRP) designation.