As the backbone organization of Calgary’s Plan to End Homelessness, we support the sector with the resources to fulfill the Plan’s vision as well as our collective commitment to ensuring Calgary has the necessary resources to support people in need.

We administer funding from the Provincial and Federal Governments for housing with supports programs, support services and one-time projects in support of ending homelessness. This involves:

  • Agreements with orders of government and other donors
  • Preparation and administering requests for proposals and bid processes when funding is available
  • Preparation and monitoring of contracts to the organizations in the community who implement programs and projects

We are able to fund more than 50 programs, delivered by over 30 agencies, which prioritize those who have been homeless for a long time and have complex needs, as well as Indigenous Peoples, families, youth and women.

Apply for funding

The Calgary Homeless Foundation utilizes a competitive bid process to provide funding to local homeless-serving agencies for programs through a Request for Proposals (RFP) process and to procure services or fund projects through an Invitation to Bid (ITB) process. These processes are subject to legislated requirements including Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIP) and New West Partnership Trade Agreement (NWPTA).

Opportunities will be posted on this page when the expected value of the program or project is $25,000 or greater.

Eligible Cost Guidelines 2016-17 (PDF)

Eligible Cost Guidelines 2017-18 (PDF)

Awards and Scholarships

The Arthur R. Smith Awards were created in the name of the founder of CHF to recognize and honour a front-line employee, a front-line team and a volunteer who have demonstrated long-term commitment to Housing First and the goal to end homelessness. These awards are open to employees and volunteers, excluding executive directors.

Successful nominations showed that nominees’ results contributed to the long-term goal of ending homelessness by helping people move towards independence in housing. Award recipients were seen as demonstrating exemplary leadership, innovation and commitment to clients. Nominators included compelling stories from clients or observers.

This year, the Art Smith Awards will grow to include those individuals, companies and foundations who have demonstrated their philanthropic commitment and leadership. We welcome the first recipients of the Art Smith Giving Circle and Friends of Art Smith.

Go to our Awards and Scholarships page to learn more.

2016 Recipients of the Art Smith Award

KAIROS Calgary
Nominated by: Amanda St. Laurent, CUPS

Front Line Employee
Devon Ouellette, Calgary Police Service
Nominated by: Sarah Knopp, The Alex

Front-Line Team
Community Treatment Order Team, Alberta Health Services
Nominated by: Jennifer Eyford, The Alex

Art Smith Giving Circle – created to honour those individuals and organizations who have demonstrated long-term commitment to Housing First and the goal of ending homelessness by providing philanthropic gifts of $500,000 or more.

Betty Ann Smith (honorary)
ATB Financial
Boardwalk REIT Limited Partnership
Gary Nissen
Jim Stanford
Nexen Energy, a CNOOC Limited Company

Recipients of this award received a one of a kind blown glass piece named the Divinity of Fire Award.

Friends of Art Smith – created to honour those individuals and organizations who show continued support via monthly or annual giving.

2016 Honourees

  • ATCO Structures & Logistics Ltd.
  • Clint Balla
  • Wayne Barkauskas
  • Sheryl Barlage
  • Douglas Beamer
  • Claude Cameron
  • Wendy Campbell
  • Cenovus Employee Foundation
  • Collins Barrow Calgary LLP
  • George Coppus
  • Emily Corsale
  • Bruce Edgelow
  • Elbow River Lodge #180
  • EnCana Cares Foundation
  • Rashid Faruqi
  • GLJ Petroleum Consultants Ltd.
  • Greengate Garden Centres Ltd.
  • Harold Gruman
  • James & Joanne Halterman
  • Home Depot Canada Foundation
  • John Howard
  • Lynn Hult
  • Iridium Risk Services Inc.
  • Madeleine King
  • Diana Krecsy
  • Pat Krishnamoorthy
  • Ray Larison
  • David McIlveen
  • Michael Morin
  • Ricahrd Morrison
  • NOVA Chemicals Corporation
  • Greg Pauling
  • Kira Pedersen
  • Les Stelmach
  • Nancy-Lynn Stevenson
  • Cathy Strand
  • The Hotchkiss Family Foundation
  • Michael Wald
  • Robert Welin
  • Terese Wright

Recipients of this award received an exclusive Art Smith Award Pin. Nominations for the 2017 Art Smith Awards will open in spring 2017.

Download The Booklet

Working with Homeless Populations

We will also help fund the development of future leaders in the fight to end homelessness through scholarships for the Certificate in Working with Homeless Populations: Practice Fundamentals (University of Calgary)

To read more about the Certificate, click here .