Our management team and board of directors are individuals with experience across a range of sectors, including not-for-profit, business, academia, government and philanthropy. This depth and breadth provides insight to guide Calgary’s Plan, governance to manage risks and skill to efficiently implement plans.

Management Team

Diana Krecsy – President and CEO

Diana Krecsy joined the Calgary Homeless Foundation as President and CEO in May 2014. Diana has more than 25 years of leadership experience, spanning health services, non-profits and academia.

Martina Jileckova – Vice-President Housing

Martina Jileckova has diverse experience in real estate and property development. She is a member of Subdivision Development Appeal Board, has volunteered for community associations and has a Masters degree in Planning.

Kevin McNichol – Vice-President Strategy 

Kevin possesses an MBA, M.Sc. in Counselling Psychology and a BA in Development Psychology and has along his career path gained a broad experience in the field of social services.  Kevin is a well-known and respected leader in the Calgary not for profit community.

Gail Boehm – Vice-President Finance and Operations 

Gail is a Chartered Accountant with over 25 years of operations and financial leadership experience in both industry and the not for profit sector. She has worked as a senior leader in both engineering consulting and oil and gas service firms, and volunteers with a number of non-profit organizations in Calgary.

Nick Falvo – Director, Research and Data

Nick did 10 years front-line work with homeless persons in Toronto and has a PhD in public policy from Carleton University. Fluently bilingual, he is a member of the editorial board of the Canadian Review of Social Policy / Revue canadienne de politique sociale.

Natalie Noble – Director, System Planning

Natalie has an extensive background in human resources services and front-line social services. She has worked in a wide range of sectors including children’s services, Aboriginal services, harm reduction, homelessness and management in not-for-profit. Natalie holds a Bachelor’s Degree and is a Certified Child and Youth Care Worker.

Louise Gallagher – Director, Marketing and Communications

With over 25 year’s experience as a communicator, writer and story-teller, Louise Gallagher’s career path has taken her through Calgary’s corporate hallways in the areas of communication and investor relations to not-for-profit volunteer management, government relations and communications. She has written for television and radio as well as numerous print and digital media outlets on the subjects of homelessness, domestic violence and street teens.

Sharon deBoer – Director, Development

Sharon has proven leadership developing and executing fund development programs, working with volunteers, developing collaborative partnerships, and helping organizations meet their mission. In addition to her work with CHF, she is the 2016 volunteer co-chair of National Philanthropy Week and a member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals Calgary & Area Board of Directors.

Coleen Hutton – Human Resources Strategist

Coleen has an extensive background in human resources strategy and all areas of human resources. She has worked in a wide range of sectors including oil and gas, management consulting, engineering, and not-for-profit. Coleen holds a Bachelor’s Degree and the Certified Human Resources Professional (CHRP) designation.

Board of Directors – Executive

Cameron Bailey – Chair

Cameron Bailey has served on our Board since 2010. He is active with other boards including the Telus Spark Calgary Science Center, the Alberta Energy Regulator, the UBC Sauder Business School, and Westside King’s Church, where he serves as Chair of the Board of Trustees. Cam retired from McKinsey & Company, a global management consulting firm in 2013. Cam and his wife Gelaine spent 15 years living in emerging markets, and have a passion for supporting the poor in Africa. They have traveled on mission trips with World Vision to Ethiopia and Tanzania. Cam has a B. Commerce degree from UBC (1983) and an MBA from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania (1988).

Trevor Daroux – Vice-Chair

Trevor Daroux joined the Calgary Police Service in 1991 and previously served with the RCMP in Montreal and Regina. He is a graduate of the U of C. He currently sits on a number of committees and boards including the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP) Victims of Crime Committee and the Crime Prevention Committee, the City of Calgary Public Safety Communications, and the RESOLVE Campaign. 

Bernadette Majdell – Vice-Chair 

Bernadette Majdell is the VP, Sales and Marketing at Hestia Group. She has more than 15 years experience in the housing industry, including strategy, sales and marketing, finance, client management and community development. For over 10 years, she worked with Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation.

Luana Comin-Sartor – Treasurer

Luana holds a Bachelor of Commerce from McMaster University and is a Chartered Professional Accountant. She is currently the Director of Internal Audit at Suncor Energy Service Inc. and is a retired audit partner from EY LLP.

Arthur R. Smith – Chair Emeritus

The late Mr. Arthur R. Smith, an entrepreneur, politician and philanthropist, founded CHF in 1998 to create a unified front to reduce homelessness in Calgary. He spent the last 10 years of his life advocating on behalf of those who were homeless and vulnerable.

Board of Directors – Members

Cameron Bailey Retired, McKinsey & Company (Chair)

Wayne Barkauskas Lawyer, Mediator and Arbitrator, Wise Scheible Barkauskas

Jeff Boyd Regional President, Alberta & Territories – RBC Royal Bank

Sharon Carry President & CEO, Bow Valley College

Luana Comin-Sartor Director, Internal Audit, Suncor Energy Services Inc. (Treasurer)

George Coppus Principal, Dynawise Inc.

Trevor Daroux Deputy Chief, Calgary Police Service (Vice-Chair)

Stephanie Felesky Community Volunteer

Diana Krecsy President & CEO, Calgary Homeless Foundation

Bernadette Majdell VP, Sales and Marketing at Hestia Group (Vice-Chair)

Anne Maxwell Director, Imagine Energy Inc.

David McIlveen Director, Community Development, Boardwalk REIT

Lucy Miller President & CEO, United Way of Calgary and Area

David Ross President, SAIT Polytechnic

Les E. Stelmach Vice President, Bissett Investment Management

Darcy Verhun Chief Operating Officer, FYidoctors 

Robin Wortman President, Barber Lucia Productions

Board of Directors – Honorary Members

John Currie

Brian O’Leary

Board of Directors – Elected/Government Members

Brian Pincott Councillor – Ward 11

We want to end homelessness, not just manage it.